Making Your Own ‘Luck’

image

The most extraordinary thing has happened.  For three long days, people I’ve never met before gave their all to make ten minutes of dialogue I wrote come to life on the big screen. I am struggling to process this happy fact.

A few years ago I approached a writer after he’d given a talk and asked him for any tips. His response was to the point. “Be lucky”, he said.  I kind of knew what he meant so went in search of this “luck” ( for “luck” read “slog”).  Though it turns out a bit of luck was involved as the piece being filmed would have been missed had I not submitted a second script with a covering note for the previous submission.

Anyway, the script made it and all eyes became focussed on the weather forecast. Whose stupid idea was it to set a story on a Suffolk beach during a British summer?  Sunday 26th of July’s forecast was ominous with lightning and hail symbols everywhere you looked.  Go to bed, it’ll be fine. It’s the driest part of the UK.

A 5 a.m. start meant driving Vera, a rather lovely, blagged-on-twitter, 1967, expensive, left-hand drive VW campervan to the set. This was by far the scariest drive I have ever undertaken in my life! We madE it through the gathering storm and arrived at the beach just as the clouds began to part.

image

After several photographs and a local radio interview, we set about the task of filming ‘Back On Board’ which is the first of eight stories in the rom com feature film With Love From Suffolk. It will be released over Valentines weekend 2016 in at least ten Suffolk cinemas.

I couldn’t wait to meet my characters. Now I can’t wait for the premiere!

image

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

