A Nice Cuppa

I’m looking forward to this world cup like a child waiting for Father Christmas and wondering if any of you Yankeedoodles think you’re going to spank England’s bottom at ‘the beautiful game’ (footy please, not that horrible soccer word) on June 12th.  It’s very hard to call as I suspect the US ‘win-at-all-costs’ mentality might well catch us off guard and we’re quite fond of the odd capitulation in the spirit of fair play etc.  Empire, for example; not wholly English but you get the gist.

My mind drifts back four years to the last attempt at glory when some very unsporting Portugese gentlemen took it upon themselves to spoil the England party.  I wouldn’t have minded quite so much if I hadn’t wandered into the back yard afterwards with a beer for solace only to hear the strains of my favourite Queen song being massacred at the nearby pub karaoke.  The great thing about football is there’s always, next game/season/competition if it all goes wrong.  The great thing about karaoke is  … well … someone may care to enlighten me …

I was out in said back yard yesterday practising my keepy-uppies just in case a last minute call came through from the FA saying that the England manager desperately needed a middle-aged man as a standby striker.  I managed to do eleven with my insane border collie snapping at the ball so I think I qualify.  Video evidence can be provided.

Well good luck to South Africa, I hope the tournament goes well and good luck to all world cup fans.  But not too much, that simply wouldn’t be cricket.  Talking of which we’ve  just won one world cup so let’s bag a second!

COME ON ENGLAND!

  1. H
    July 5, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Yes, well, ahemmm … don’t like to say ‘told you so’ but I will just add that me and a mate are still available for selection in 2014 and will be happy to drop back to a central holding midfield role, GK even, and do the job at a discounted rate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

